Research Focus: Biochemistry

Biochemistry is the study of the molecular basis of life.  Biochemists investigate the structure, function, and mechanisms of molecules found in nature, seeking to understand how these work in concert from bacteria to man.  Understanding function at a molecular level not only provides us with insight about the underpinnings of life and its evolution, but allows us to directly tackle unsolved questions in human disease and improve the quality of life.

Faculty in this Research Focus Area

Michael Brown
Professor
mfbrown@email.arizona.edu
520-621-2163

Pascale Charest
Assistant Professor
pcharest@email.arizona.edu
520-626-2916

Matthew Cordes
Associate Professor
cordes@email.arizona.edu
520-626-1175

John Enemark
Regents Professor Emeritus - Retired
jenemark@email.arizona.edu
520-621-2245

Indraneel Ghosh
Professor
ghosh@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6331

N.C. Horton
Associate Professor
nhorton@email.arizona.edu
520-626-3828

Victor Hruby
Regents Professor Emeritus - Retired
hruby@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6332

Nam Lee
Associate Professor
namlee@email.arizona.edu

Michael Marty
Assistant Professor
mtmarty@email.arizona.edu
520-621-1501

Roger L. Miesfeld
Professor and Department Head
rlm@email.arizona.edu
520-626-2343

Katrina Miranda
Associate Professor
kmiranda@email.arizona.edu
520-626-3655

Robin Polt
Professor
polt@email.arizona.edu
520-370-2654

Jacob Schwartz
Assistant Professor
jcschwartz@email.arizona.edu
520-621-0877

Marc Tischler
Professor
tischler@email.arizona.edu
520-626-6130

Gordon Tollin
Regents Professor Emeritus - Retired
gtollin@email.arizona.edu

F. Ann Walker
Regents Professor Emerita - Retired
awalker@email.arizona.edu
520-621-8645